Here’s to another

After I became pregnant, I spent a year mourning the loss of an “ideal” family for my baby. I worked through grief in many forms.

A year later my focus sharpened as I fixated on an infant and not taking my health for granted.

And now, coming up on year three, I’ll have a terrible two-er soon. And I’ve gained so much. Self respect, an amazing man for my daughter to look up to, love, gratefulness, and that beautiful insight that can only come with time. Little epiphanies show up like a tide along the shore.

A switch of perspective.

I’m gifted another year of peace.

Watching my partner’s and friends’ co-parenting dynamics has cast a different light on mine and my daughter’s situation. I don’t have to consider any opinion but my own in the raising of my child. I don’t have to base our wholeness on the incompleteness of anyone else. (Just mine.) Hearing the stuff some go through in these parenting battles… I’ve developed a whole new appreciation for it just being me and her.

Now, things and people are able to greatly compliment our lives instead of hindering… altering. Uprooting.

Naw.

I’m so grateful for what I have today. I don’t need to escape anymore. I’m very much present and focused on happiness.

Here’s to another year of peace, love, and watching my babygirl flourish.

I wish the same peace for every set of eyes reading these words.

3 thoughts on “Here’s to another

  1. I realized today that I haven’t checked your blog in well over a year. Not that you need my reinforcement, but I am so proud of the progress you’ve made. It seems you’ve become exactly what I always knew you were – and what I think you always knew deep down even if you hid from it for a long time – a strong, independent woman who doesn’t need anyone’s support or approval but instead chooses to surround herself with similarly minded, good, supportive people, AND who is finally starting to realize that she is just as beautiful on the outside as she is on the inside. I’m so happy for you.

    -Trek

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.